MSU IT Council Work Groups & Committees

An IT Council Work Group is formed to address a particular issue or complete a specific project. Then the work group is dissolved.

An IT Council Committee is a longer standing body addressing ongoing specific focus areas typically with no end date. Committee group leaders are bolded.

Active Directory and Office 365 Governance Committee

Purpose: Work with MSU IT to ensure MSU’s Microsoft Active Directory (CampusAD) will enable all of MSU and its departments with a solution that is stable, secure, and flexible. This group will also create the procedures to govern this community owned, but centrally run service. This committee was formed to prepare for the Microsoft Office 365 transition and will be maintained after Office 365 implementation to ensure CampusAD fits needs across MSU.

Members: Mike Walters, Rob McCurdy, Matt Stehouwer, Jim Willson

Supporting members (non-ITC): Jeff Domeyer, David Graff, Elizabeth Hood, Brian Hoort, Nicholas Kwiatkowski, Sherry Ochsner, Dean Olson III, Mike Switzer

Accommodating Technology Committee

The Accommodating Technology Committee (ATC) is committed to enhancing accessibility at MSU. The group explores ways by which technologies, tools, and systems can be rendered accessible to the entire university, regardless of specific abilities and disabilities. This committee makes formal funding and policy recommendations as they relate to accommodating and assistive technologies.

Non-member leadership: Stephen Blosser (Chair), Graham Pierce (Vice-Chair)

Supporting members: Macy Dahnke (Recording Secretary), Garrett Colon, Phil Deaton, Nate Evans, Mike Ezzo, Danielle Fowler, Paul Heberlein, Mike Hudson, James Jackson, Ranti Junus, Emilia Marcyk, Ginger Martz, Tyler Smeltekop, Sarah Swierenga, Lina Wu, Todd Ring, Jim White


Purpose: Women in IT represent 17 percent of the workforce, while other underrepresented individuals 6 and 3 percent, respectively – hence the group name of Club25. It is authorized by the MSU IT Culture Committee/ Committee of MSU IT Council and will serve at the pleasure of the governing body. Our mission statement is to assist in creating a network of women, other underrepresented individuals and those that support this initiative to form a positive community of continued education, mentorship, fellowship, and confidence-building initiatives.

Members: Molly Cooper, Elisabeth Anderson, Diana D’Angelo

Collaboration Facilitation Work Group

Purpose: Develop, foster, and improve methods for more technology collaboration between units across campus. Goals include finding ways to develop partnerships and enhance activities to achieve greater efficiencies in time and resources needed for technology collaboration.

Members:  John Furcean, Murtaza Lokhandwala, John Resotko, Jim Willson

Communication Committee

Purpose: Develop and implement a communications plan and overall communications strategy for the MSU IT Council. Support efforts to effectively communicate the concerns, initiatives, and goals of the IT Council to the broader MSU community. Foster improved communications between the IT Council and other IT-related groups and stakeholders on campus.

Members: John Resotko, Jim Willson, Dave Vietti

Supporting members (non-ITC): Elisabeth Anderson

Service Catalog Work Group

Purpose: Provide recommendations for improving the customer experience to successfully access information about campuswide IT services.  The scope of the recommendations will consider all IT service catalogs tools that are currently offered by distributed IT colleges/units and MSU IT Services.

Members: Jeffrey Carpenter, Dave Dai, William Gall, Dave Vietti

Supporting members (non-ITC): Elisabeth Anderson, Angela Knauf, Sherrie Medved, Nathan Moore

Storage – Future Strategy Work Group

Purpose: Develop a campus needs analysis/recommendation document for future campus-wide deployment and management of storage.

Members: Dave Dai, Shawn Nicholson

Supporting members (non-ITC): Matt Stehouwer

Technology Liaisons Collaboration Work Group

Purpose: To increase visibility and awareness of existing services and processes provided by MSU IT, seeking opportunities to streamline complex project movement through the IT organization and better utilize existing services to the fullest potential.

Members: Rich Tibbals, Ryan Ward